top of page

Not Your Child | Lis Angus

Updated: Apr 16, 2022


Not Your Child

by Lis Angus

April 1-30, 2022 Virtual Book Tour

When Ottawa psychologist and single mother Susan Koss discovers that a strange man has been following her twelve-year-old daughter Maddy, she fears he’s a predator. But it’s worse than that. The man, Daniel Kazan, believes Maddy is his granddaughter, abducted as a baby, and he’s obsessed with getting her back.

Susan insists on a DNA test to disprove Daniel’s claim, but the result is one she can’t understand or explain: it says she’s not Maddy’s mother.

Then Maddy vanishes. Susan’s convinced Daniel has taken her, but he has an alibi, and two searches of his house turn up nothing. The hunt is on—police are on full mobilization, and Susan fears the worst.


My Thoughts:


As a parent, the fear of our child(ren) missing and/or running away is a top-seeded fear. From the very beginning, I put myself in Susan's shoes, fully grasping the anguish she was going through while Maddy was missing.


In the beginning, I felt a bit of empathy for Daniel as he searches for his missing granddaughter. But as the book continued and his actions changed, I felt a chill run down my spine. I don't often find myself feeling anything but disdain for the "villain", yet Lis Angus successfully pulled me into an understanding for his initial actions. Voices of his deceased wife, and all.


Even though she's a psychologist, I thought Susan was a bit blank when it came to her relationship with her own daughter. I couldn't quite put my finger onto the reason and thoroughly enjoyed the psychological pull that was unfolded through the plot.


I thoroughly enjoyed the detailed scenes - even the mundane - as the suspense slowly built from one twist to the next. The ending satisfied some of my questions while shocked me at a few others. Excellent execution!


I received a complimentary ARC for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.



Book Details:

Genre: Suspense Published by: The Wild Rose Press Publication Date: April 18, 2022 Number of Pages: 308 ISBN: 978-1-5092-4118-7 Book Links: Amazon.com (Amazon.ca) | Barnes & Noble | AppleBooks | Goodreads


About the Author:


Lis Angus is a Canadian suspense writer. Early in her career, she worked with children and families in crisis; later she worked as a policy advisor, business writer and editor while raising two daughters. She now lives south of Ottawa with her husband.



This is a giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for Lis Angus. See the widget for entry terms and conditions. Void where prohibited.




bottom of page