top of page

What Matters Most | Courtney Walsh


“Courtney Walsh’s books always capture my heart!” —Becky Wade, author of Let It Be Me



Emma Woodson is hoping the cobblestone streets of Nantucket and the charm of her late husband’s family cottage will be the fresh start she and her young son, CJ, need. Securing a dream job at an art gallery is one more step along the path to a new life . . . and away from a piece of her history she hopes will never be revealed. Falling in love with the kind and handsome guy she hires to clean out the rental apartment above the garage wasn’t part of the plan.


Jameson Shaw came to Nantucket for one reason: deliver his letter to Emma and never return. But when he sees an opportunity to help her, he takes a chance, desperate to atone for his past. He never planned to keep his connection to her husband a secret or to fall in love with her. After all, he knows that their new relationship might not survive the discovery of who he really is.


My Thoughts:


Courtney Walsh hits right in the heart with this new release! Until I started reading her books, I never considered Nantucket as a place I would want to visit, but now, I would love to go! As you read, the scenery appears right before your eyes. The characters are complex and well-developed, as well as flawed. This adds to the realism you feel while reading. Absolutely one of my favorite qualities of Courtney Walsh's work!


Both Emma and Jameson have secrets. Secrets that pull on their hearts, minds, and cause them to struggle with their faith. They both carry personal guilt for their actions that caused others harm, yet this is the very thing that brings them together.


Be sure to grab some tissues because their journey is not easy. But their path to rebuilding their faith in others, and themselves, is worth every tear. I read the entire book in one day because it was such a fresh, realistic love story that ended up earning a permanent place on my bookshelf!


I received a complimentary copy for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.


About the Author:

Courtney Walsh is the author of more than ten contemporary romance books. Her debut novel, A Sweethaven Summer, was a New York Times and USA Today e-book bestseller and a Carol Award finalist in the debut author category. In addition, she has written two craft books and several full-length musicals. Courtney lives with her husband and three children in Illinois, where she is also an artist, theater director, and playwright.



Five Reasons to Visit Nantucket


By Courtney Walsh

I seem to have two different personalities when I’m on vacation. One part of me loves to rest, relax, and read a book or two (uninterrupted, preferably), and another part of me loves to get out and explore the new surroundings of wherever it is I’m staying.


Whatever your vacay preferences, Nantucket has a little something for everyone. If you’ve never been, here are five reasons to add it to your bucket list.


1. The overall charm. If you ask me why I set a series of novels in Nantucket, I would have to say, without a doubt, the charming setting. As an author, I’ve made up my own quaint towns a few times, but having one that’s nearly perfect already in existence did a lot of the heavy imaginative lifting for me. With its cobblestone streets and adorable downtown, the historical appeal of this island is everywhere—and it’s like something straight out of a movie.


2. The lighthouses. I’ve always been a bit of a sucker for a lighthouse. There’s something so fascinating about them, and it’s fun to let my mind wander, creating stories about the many, many sailors who’ve passed by over the years. How many lives has the lighthouse saved? We’ll never know. Nantucket is home to three different lighthouses, and all are worth seeing.


3. The food. Some vacations aren’t food vacations. There are places around the world that just aren’t known for having great food. Nantucket is not one of those places. There are so many restaurants to try, and if you’re a seafood lover, it doesn’t get much fresher than in Nantucket. My family highly recommends one of the ice cream shops on the island, specifically, the Juice Bar. This little shop on the corner had a line around the block when we were there last, proving its popularity, but I noticed there were several others that looked equally as delicious. My tip? Stay a few days and try them all. Report back on which was your favorite!


4. The hydrangeas. I know this seems like a silly reason to take a plane and then a ferry out to an island, but trust me, you’ve never seen anything quite like the hydrangeas in Nantucket. Truthfully, I think it’s because so many of them are out in front of the most beautiful beach cottages, and somehow, the gray wooden shingles make the blue-purple flowers pop. Everywhere you look is another photo opportunity. If you enjoy strolling around and looking at gorgeous architecture, adorned with gorgeous flowers, you’ll love Nantucket.


5. The beaches. So many beaches. I live in the Midwest, so we don’t get the chance to dig our toes in the sand very often. In Nantucket, there are countless opportunities to soak in the sun. Surfing, fishing, sunbathing, sailboat tours—just about any water activity you can imagine is available to you on the island—and what better way can you think of to spend your summer vacation than with a beach read on a beach, basking in the sunshine?


However you prefer to vacation, Nantucket is an island that can easily meet your needs—but if a trip to the island isn’t feasible right now, perhaps a novel set on Nantucket will tide you over? (I have a couple I could recommend.)

bottom of page