top of page

Toxic Soup | RR Rowley


Toxic Soup

by RR Rowley

May 23 - June 17, 2022 Virtual Book Tour


The Poisoning Must End


Toxic waste at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation has been poisoning the environment, human beings, and wildlife for more than six decades. When her brother dies a horrible death at Hanford, Casey Long, a kayaker and windsurfer by day and bartender by night in the Columbia River Gorge, Oregon/Washington, swears to put an end to the upriver contamination. But, how can she possibly take on the entrenched fortress of a facility?

After she confides in Little Bear, a bitter Native American fisherman, they contrive a dangerous plan. Joined by a peculiar mishmash of collaborators, they risk everything to save the environment and achieve justice for all injured parties, past and present.


Book Details:

Genre: Environmental Thriller Published by: The Wild Rose Press Publication Date: April 11, 2022 Number of Pages: 272 ISBN: 1509241167 (ISBN-13: 978-1509241163) Book Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads


My Thoughts:


With all of the environmental issues in the world today, this is quite the intriguing read! Casey's persistence is understandable and admirable, yet we see how distressing the need for revenge can take on a person. She wants justice -- don't we all when we (or someone we love) is wronged?


The author's ability to pull us into the plot was astounding. All of my senses were on alert, absorbing the strong imagery created through each scene. You feel transported to each one. The characters are also written to the degree that we can relate to each one and I often found myself placing people I know in my personal life into the shoes of the cast if we were in this situation.


Casey's support system attempts to keep her grounded, yet the depths that she is willing to go come as quite a surprise at times. It made me question my own morals and values as to what I would do in her shoes. Knowing that government officials are playing blind and passing the buck on the problem is relatable in numerous ways. Just when you think you wouldn't resort to the levels Casey does, events occur that make you say, YEP! I get it! And soon, you're cheering her on.


I am so grateful for the opportunity to get my hands on this book....I couldn't finish it fast enough, yet I also forced myself to slow down and absorb every word. There were a few parts that I had to go back and re-read to fully understand or to clarify, but it helped immerse me in even further.


I received a complimentary copy for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.


Author Bio:



R R Rowley has lived coast to coast in the USA, in London, UK, and has spent many years on his farm in Grenada, West Indies. He has owned and operated several companies and was involved in start-ups. Currently, he resides in the Cascade Mountains of Washington State.




Follow the Book Tour:




This is a giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Tours for RR Rowley. See the widget for entry terms and conditions. Void where prohibited.





bottom of page