top of page

The Woman Underwater | Penny Goetjen


Don't try to tell Victoria Sands that time heals all wounds. It doesn't work that way for a woman who's lost her husband the way she did. She was never able to say goodbye. Never able to arrange a memorial. Receive friends at the service. Write thank-you notes for the flowers and donations sent in his name. Because it didn't happen that way.


Victoria's husband never returned home at the end of a work day. And no one seems to know what happened to him.

In the seven years since his disappearance, no witnesses have stepped forward and no credible evidence has been collected-not even his car. The few tenuous leads the police had are now ice cold. He simply vanished on a field trip with the private boarding school where he taught behind stone walls-the same school their son now attends.


But someone has to know what happened. And that someone may be closer to Victoria than she realizes.


Buy the Book:



My Thoughts:


Throughout the first part of the book, I wasn't overly fond of Victoria. I thought she was a bit pretentious. But by the end of the book, my heart went out to a woman who never gave up - no matter how ridiculous it made her look or feel. She can come off as being a hover mom who wants a "perfect" exterior. But it's the real Victoria who I admire. The one who I connect with and feel empathy for when the truth begins unraveling.


At first, I didn't understand why Victoria was acting in such a way, other than her behavior was mirroring what was expected of her. Everyone else had moved on from her husband's disappearance, so why couldn't she? I think this gave me perspective on how when something tragic happens and you want to stay in place, but unfortunately, the world keeps spinning, turning you to the next thing.


Once you hit the midway point, things start falling into place and I felt myself immersing in the story. Stick with it, because I completely felt that it was worth every bit of being curious about Victoria's actions. I loved the addition of her mother -- her antics and humor added in smiles that were needed to lower your guard while reading.


I received a complimentary review copy. All opinions are my own.


About the Author:

National award-winning author Penny Goetjen writes murder mystery and suspense novels where the settings play as prominent a role as the engaging characters. A self-proclaimed eccentric known for writing late into the night, transfixed by the allure of flickering candlelight, Ms. Goetjen embraces the writing process, unaware what will confront her at the next turn. She rides the journey with her characters, often as surprised as her readers to see how the story unfolds. Fascinated with the paranormal, she usually weaves a subtle, unexpected twist into her stories. When her husband is asked how he feels about his wife writing murder mysteries, he answers with a wink, I sleep with one eye open.

bottom of page