top of page

The Confidence of Wildflowers | Micalea Smeltzer


My future is a big ‘what if’ at the moment and I’m fine with that.

For the most part.


When Thayer Holmes moves in next door, the grumpy landscaper both fascinates and amuses me.

When he asks me to nanny his kid, it’s a great way to make some extra money.


It’s impossible not to fall in love with Thayer and his adorable son.

There’s a big problem though.

I’m eighteen. He’s thirty-one.

Falling for someone almost fifteen years older than me wasn’t part of my plans, but sometimes things happen when you least expect them.






Buy the Book:

Download today or read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

My Thoughts:


First and foremost, this book literally ripped my heart out. The feels become full-fledged emotions that I still haven't been able to work through yet. The second half of the duet will be read in full April 6th when it's released, so I plan to be completely undisturbed. If not, there is a chance someone could get their feelings hurt or possibly lose a limb. This is seriously THAT amazing!


The gorgeous cover wraps the pages of a story that will forever change you. When I finished, I sat in pure silence, contemplating every word I had just read. An age gap happens to be one of my favorite tropes for the fact that each person learns a soul-changing lesson from the other. More often than not, I think it's the older of the pair learning from the younger -- or at least re-learning -- because as we age, we become less trusting and lose the rose-colored glasses we view the world through.


Micalea Smeltzer executes this trope with laser-sharp precision, building characters we grow to love and give a piece of our hearts to. Salem has an old soul and surprises me at her view of the world, despite the tragic past she faced. She is beautiful, intelligent, and far beyond her years in a way I relate to more than I could've imagined reading the blurb. Thayer is the grump and when that shield begins to fall away and vulnerabilities are exposed, you can't help but fall in love.


The only complaint I have is that I have to wait until April 6th to read the second half of the duet!


I received a complimentary ARC for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.



About Micalea Smeltzer:

Micalea Smeltzer is a twenty-something author from Northern Virginia. She has four dogs, which is as crazy as it sounds. As a recent kidney transplant recipient she's dedicated to raising awareness around the effects of kidney disease, dialysis, and transplant as well as educating people on living donation. When she's not writing you can catch her with her nose buried in a book.

Connect with Micalea


Facebook Group | https://bit.ly/3k9MrP4


bottom of page