top of page

Saving Grace by D.M. Barr


Saving Grace

by D.M. Barr

Tour October 12 - November 13, 2020


Synopsis:


Grace Pierrepoint Rendell, the only child of an ailing billionaire, has been treated for paranoia since childhood. When she secretly quits her meds, she begins to suspect that once her father passes, her husband will murder her for her inheritance.


Realizing that no one will believe the ravings of a supposed psychotic, she devises a creative way to save herself – she will write herself out of danger, authoring a novel with the heroine in exactly the same circumstances, thus subtly exposing her husband's scheme to the world. She hires acclaimed author Lynn Andrews to help edit her literary insurance policy, but when Lynn is murdered, Grace is discovered standing over the bloody remains. The clock is ticking: can she write and publish her manuscript before she is strapped into a straitjacket, accused of homicide, or lowered six feet under?


With a cast of secondary characters whose challenges mirror Grace's own, Saving Grace is, at it's core, an allegory for the struggle of the marginalized to be heard and live life on their own terms.


"A psychological thriller with more than enough twists, turns, and misdirection to keep even the most jaded reader turning pages all night long."

–Lori Robbins, author of the Silver Falchion Award-winning novel, Lesson Plan for Murder


Book Details:

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Domestic Suspense Published by: Black Rose Writing Publication Date: October 15th 2020 Number of Pages: 255 ISBN: 978-1684335565 Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | BlackRose Writing | Goodreads


Buy the Book!



This book quickly drew me in with the curiosity of whether Grace was mentally unstable, or if she was being silenced through mental manipulation. We are pulled into feeling sympathetic for her because of how she's treated. I felt that her entire family was abusive by how they talked to and treated her.


We often hear from physicians that patients being treated for conditions such as paranoia are high-risk for taking themselves off their medications when they are having clear, lucid moments. Deep down, Grace feels that something is wrong and she wants to test her theory by removing the zombified-state she's forced into with the meds. Instantly, I begin to wonder if she's going to be successful as her husband and therapist seem to be one step ahead of her.


When Grace suspects her husband is plotting to murder her, I felt horrified by the fact that he could be encouraging his children to participate in the events leading up to his plan. It made for great reading, though! I wanted to jump into the book and rip her from such a destructive situation. Not only do her relationships with her husband and children suffer from her paranoia, but she also has a rocky connection with her father.


As an aspiring writer myself, I loved how she turned to exposing the secret plot by writing a book. She develops a relationship with an established writer who helps progress her idea into a physical book, all while not knowing that it's a matter of life and death.


Her adventure of writing the book is suspenseful -- to the max. I felt her desperation to complete the book while still having to live with processing the information to move forward and anticipate the next step. Her strength is encouraging and inspiring; but is it all a rouse? Is it her paranoia creating this false illusion? Barr writes this incredibly well, making us question our own deduction skills.


Saving Grace is one of the most intense, mind-thrilling books I've read in a long time. I picked it up and didn't move until I read the final words. Highly-recommended!




Follow the book Tour!





About the Author



By day, a mild-mannered salesperson, wife, mother, rescuer of senior shelter dogs, competitive trivia player and author groupie, happily living just north of New York City. By night, an author of sex, suspense and satire.

My background includes stints in travel marketing, travel journalism, meeting planning, public relations and real estate. I was, for a long and happy time, an award-winning magazine writer and editor. Then kids happened. And I needed to actually make money. Now they're off doing whatever it is they do (of which I have no idea since they won't friend me on Facebook) and I can spend my spare time weaving tales of debauchery and whatever else tickles my fancy.

The main thing to remember about my work is that I am NOT one of my characters. For example, as a real estate broker, I've never played Bondage Bingo in one of my empty listings or offed anyone at my local diet clinic. And I haven't run away from home in fear that my husband was planning to off me.

But that's not to say that I haven't wanted to…


Catch Up With Our Author On:



This is a rafflecopter giveaway hosted by Partners in Crime Virtual Book Tours for D.M. Barr. There will be 1 winner of one (1) Amazon.com Gift Card. The giveaway begins on October 12, 2020 and runs through November 15, 2020. Void where prohibited.




bottom of page