top of page

All Through the Night | Tara Johnson

Updated: Jan 21, 2021



With her stammering tongue and quiet ways, Cadence Piper has always struggled to be accepted. After the death of her mother, Cadence sets her heart on becoming a nurse, both to erase the stain her brother has left on the family’s honor and to find long-sought approval in the eyes of her father. When Dorothea Dix turns her away due to her young age and pretty face, Cadence finds another way to serve . . . singing to the soldiers in Judiciary Square Hospital. Only one stubborn doctor stands in her way.


Joshua Ivy is an intense man with a compassionate heart for the hurting and downtrodden. The one thing he can’t have is an idealistic woman destroying the plans he’s so carefully laid. When the chaos of war thrusts Cadence into the middle of his clandestine activities, he must decide if the lives at stake, and his own heart, are worth the risk of letting Cadence inside.


Everything changes when Joshua and Cadence unearth the workings of a secret society so vile, the course of their lives, and the war, could be altered forever. If they fight an enemy they cannot see, will the One who sees all show them the way in the darkest night?






Tara Johnson will keep you up All Through the Night turning each page of this wonderfully-written novel! We are immediately pulled into the life of a young woman, Cadence Piper, who struggles to find her place in the world. After being deemed "mentally limited" due to her stutter, she's carried a heavy weight of trying to prove herself worthy of her father's approval. Her struggle with finding a purpose, being needed, and fully-accepted are all earthly, humankind feelings that many of us can relate to. Johnson created a young woman I could have seen myself as during that time frame.


Joshua Ivy, a man who struggles with his past and finding his own place in the world, crosses paths with Cadence when she uses her beautiful, God-given singing voice to comfort soldiers as they come in from battle, hurting and wounded. In his heart, he can feel the draw to her, but with his current dealings, he feels it best to keep her away. Cadence is extremely determined to fulfill what she feels called to and Joshua soon finds it impossible to avoid the young woman. Together, they are yoked in a Biblical, strengthening manner that encourages your heart to care deeply for the couple.


The draw between the pair is undeniable. I love the build of the relationship and found myself fearing for their lives with the intrigue of the secret society they stumble upon. I had hoped to get a little more background on Joshua's difficult childhood but it didn't deter my love for this story. Johnson pulls you into the streets of Washington D.C., the hospital, and the battle fields with her vivid imagery.


Even though the story is fictional, it is written with impressions from factual people and events during the time of the Civil War. The dark, evil society exposes the depths of a time we don't wish to recall, but it helps open your heart to understanding of the good that exists in comparison.



About the Author


Tara Johnson is a passionate lover of stories who uses fiction, nonfiction, song, and laughter to share her testimony of how God led her into freedom after spending years living shackled to the expectations of others. Tara is the author of three novels set during the Civil War: Engraved on the Heart, Where Dandelions Bloom, and All Through the Night. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and makes her home in Arkansas with her husband and three children. Visit her online at tarajohnsonstories.com.



Interview with Tara Johnson


What inspired the story line and characters found in All Through the Night?


The character of Cadence Piper was inspired by real-life Civil War nurse Elida B. Rumsey. Elida desperately wanted to serve as a nurse in the war but was denied by Dorothea Dix because of her young age and beauty. Elida found another way in . . . by singing to the wounded soldiers. They loved her golden voice and sweet spirit when she visited the hospitals. She quickly found herself being called upon to help boost their sagging spirits. In time, she was called to nurse at the battlefield. After fainting at the first sight of blood, she was mortified and vowed never to let herself fall apart that way again. She was the first person to ever sing “The Battle Hymn of the Republic.”


Joshua Ivy was created completely from my imagination but was inspired by the heroic abolitionists of the time. Many sacrificed everything for the cause, but even the bravest were not always completely pure in their motivations. While Joshua knows he is doing the right thing, however dangerous, he also uses the cause as a mask to hide his own wounds and insecurities.


All Through the Night is a weaving of real events, including an evil secret society, with fictional characters, all of whom are grappling with spiritual struggles . . . the need to be accepted and loved.


What role does faith play in this story?


Faith is an integral part of All Through the Night. Cadence has to learn that approval and love are not the same thing. She must ultimately find acceptance in the eyes of God instead of the fickle applause of man. Joshua believes he must keep striving to do more, be more to erase the stigma of his past but finally sees his worth rests in being loved by his family and his Creator.


Who did you write this book for?


This book is written for anyone who has wondered if God sees them. It was birthed for anyone who has wrestled with approval or people-pleasing and been left with a gnawing ache inside. This story is for anyone who longs for freedom.


Tell us about some of the core themes of All Through the Night. How do you hope these themes will resonate with and challenge your readers?


Cadence yearns for her father’s approval and does anything to seek unconditional love in conditionally minded people. Joshua fights the demons of his past, particularly his battered existence growing up as a street rat in the slums. He seeks to find his worth in saving others. Cadence seeks her worth in being seen. Themes found in this story are true worth, identity, unconditional love in Christ, how the hurtful things said in our past affect our future, and finally, how to overcome the lie you believed about yourself.


I want the readers to know that whatever lie they have believed—“I am worthless,” “I need to be seen,” “If only ______ would love me, then I’d be happy . . .”—there is hope and freedom in Jesus. There is nothing we can do to earn his love and nothing we can do to lose his love.


How is the perspective of All Through the Night unique compared to other novels in the Civil War genre?


One aspect that is particularly unique is the emergence of the Knights of the Golden Circle. This evil sect played a large role in funding the Confederacy and had big plans to form a new nation, a ring of power, that included the Southern states, Mexico, and the Caribbean islands. They had powerful men in both the Confederacy and, ironically, the Union and carried out some of the most heinous acts ever committed on American soil.


Another unique aspect of All Through the Night are the cameo appearances by great historical figures like Fanny Crosby and John Wilkes Booth. I love to bring real men and women to life in a way my readers enjoy.


How did you get the idea for the relationship between your two main characters?

Since Cadence is desperate to become a nurse, I knew Joshua would need to directly oppose her goals, at least in the beginning. What better opposition could a nurse have than a stubborn doctor? As their relationship grows, I loved that Joshua becomes her biggest cheerleader but is blind to his own flaws. In many ways, Cadence and Joshua are both struggling with facets of the same issue . . . being accepted. They just have different ways of handling their wounds. This is true for many relationships. The way we see the world is filtered through our past, and that filter affects how we deal with fear. I loved exploring Cadence’s and Joshua’s emotions and the way they see the world.


Which was your favorite character to write? Do you identify with this character in any way?


My favorite character to write is the humorous secondary character. They lend so much charm, charisma, and wisdom to a story. They usually bring an opportunity for the reader to take a breath but also give the main character a chance to reflect on some sage advice . . . even if it’s delivered in a comical manner. I relate to this character because I’m a bit this way myself! Laughter is great medicine but it also speaks truth.


How did you become a writer?


For years, I was a singer and songwriter signed with a Christian record label. When I was diagnosed with gastroparesis, and I began to lose my ability to sing for long stretches of time, I was confused. I thought God had told me he would use my voice to tell others about him.


As I began singing less and writing more in my personal blog, I gained more and more followers. Stories soon began to flood my mind. A friend suggested I attend the national American Christian Fiction Writers conference, and after some encouragement from my husband, I went with a good amount of trepidation. In my very first class, my instructor taught us about each author’s unique voice, the way writers string words and phrases together to tell a story. And that’s when God spoke to my heart.


Tara, you can have a voice and still not have a voice.


I’ve been writing ever since. I still sing when I can and speak often, but God has brought me into a beautiful season of creativity with him. Weaving stories that touch hearts and share his truth with others is such a delightful calling.


What made you want to write Civil War–era fiction? What about that genre do you enjoy?


When I was growing up, my mom and I enjoyed a yearly tradition of watching Gone with the Wind together. I have loved learning about the Civil War ever since. When I was young, the drama and potential romance of the period drew me in, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve fallen in love with the stories of heroism from brave men and women on both sides of the conflict. The Civil War was a turning point for our nation on so many levels . . . politically, socially, emotionally, not to mention the amazing inventions and reformations that occurred as a result. It completely changed the landscape of our society.


Can you tell us about some of your upcoming projects?


I just finished a middle grade story about a precocious preacher’s kid named Sarah Grace who gets into all kinds of mischief and learns some interesting lessons along the way. I’m also in the middle of writing two new historical romances. One is based on the life of Dr. Mary Walker, the only woman ever to receive the Medal of Honor, and the other is about a young girl who is mute and sold to Barbados as part of the Irish slave trade.


Removing the Mask: Tearing Away the Need for Approval


Tara Johnson


I watched the performers dancing down Main Street of Disney’s Magic Kingdom, spinning in their glittering, satin costumes, smiling with those perfect white teeth and painted lips. They were mesmerizing as they sang and danced under the swelling rush of orchestra music and glitter. Little girls lining the road stared up at them in awe. Small boys squirming near their mothers imitated the courageous stances of the muscled, grinning heroes. The exuberant performances of the characters drew everyone’s attention as the crush of people applauded and whistled their approval.

To a casual observer, these performers were having a ball . . . unless you got a glimpse of them up close.


One princess danced by, grinning and waving. I was on the edge of the street with a particularly good view as she pranced toward the children at my side. That’s when I saw it: her makeup was running in streams down her face. Her mascara was melting, leaving shadowy puddles under her eyes. Even her wig had become loose from the sweat soaking her head. Why, she wasn’t a blonde at all! She was a brunette. Neither was her skin flawlessly smooth but splotched from the heat. Her eyes met mine and I saw a flicker of something akin to exhaustion. Weariness. But as soon as the glimmer appeared, it was snuffed out, safely tucked back into hiding beneath the mask of a carefree princess.


I instantly felt a tug of sympathy. Memories of my time in college working for my performance degree assaulted me . . . the fatigue, the demands. Performance after performance, hour after hour, day after day. No room for mistakes despite weather, illness, or circumstances.


As I watched a tiny glimmer of her mask crack, what truly hurt my heart was the knowledge that I’ve been there on a deeper level as well, and it’s far more devastating than dancing in the scorching Florida sun. It’s the charade of trying to be a perfect Christian. The perfect mom. The perfect wife. The perfect friend. The perfect everything.


I grew up as a preacher’s kid and somehow believed that God was happy if the church was happy. In my mind, the church was happy when I put on a smile, donned my “Super Christian” cape, and did whatever anyone asked of me. I looked perfect on the outside, but inside, I was filled with anger and resentment.

My goal was always smile. Hide the pain. Do what anyone asks of me. Win their approval. If they are happy with me, they’ll never see what a mess I am inside. They’ll never know about my dark places. I just need to do more. Be more. I can’t mess up. If I do, I’ll lose their respect, approval, and worst of all, their love.


It worked for a little while, until my body could take no more and I was plunged into a deep depression. God tenderly showed me that I was living for others and not for him. That I had given away my freedom and exchanged them for chains. It was all about making people think I was something other than who I was. At best, it was playacting. At worst, nothing less than living a lie. Hypocrisy. Deception.


Ouch.


How many of us are playacting our walk with God, trying to pretend like we have it together, but are a trembling, resentful bundle of brokenness inside? How many of us think that if people saw who we truly are, they could never love us? How many of us are exhausted from trying to get people’s approval to fill that aching void inside?

Sometimes our busyness and perfectly executed activities, our smiles and the furor of pretending generates a heat so hot, our masterful application of thick makeup runs in rivulets of sweat, stripping away the rosy cheeks to reveal the pale flesh beneath. The mask melts and runs.


Stated another way, there are only two options with perfectionism—constantly do more, spinning like an exhausted hamster on the proverbial wheel, or crack from the strain of being something you’re not.


I get it. I really do. I’ve always known God loves me unconditionally, but people? That’s a whole other issue. People are fickle, mean, wishy-washy, demanding, and unfair. Which raises the question . . . why are so many of us killing ourselves to be perfect in order to win the conditional approval of people who are just as messy as we are?


I think many of us confuse approval with love. Approval is a stamp given by someone else that says, “You meet my expectations.” Love says, “You’re a broken mess but I love you anyway.” They are polar opposites.


In my new novel, All Through the Night, Cadence Piper struggles with her father’s expectations. When a phrenologist tells her family her stuttering is a result of a mental deficiency, Cadence works to prove the charlatan wrong by applying to be a nurse. When Dorothea Dix turns her away because of her youth and pretty face, she finds another way to serve . . . singing to the wounded soldiers at the hospital.

As her fame grows throughout Washington, D.C., she finally receives the approval from her father she has always longed for . . . until one disastrous performance brings her reputation crashing down. It isn’t until Cadence meets a surgeon named Joshua Ivy, and unearths the secrets he’s hiding, that she understands approval and love are not the same thing.


Despite my struggle with people-pleasing, one thing I have learned is this: perfect is boring, at least by the human definition. For me, flawless has become synonymous with plastic. Dull. What a miserable way to live. No, I think I’ll strive for the biblical definition of perfect instead . . . “complete.” Complete in Jesus. Not lacking anything because his grace has filled the broken places where my own weakness is laid bare.


When we finally stop trying to be something we’re not and focus on pleasing the only One who matters (Jesus Christ), he comes and gently wipes away all that makeup we’ve tried so desperately to hide behind. Those crushing, suffocating demands fall away and we finally taste freedom for the first time. No more masks. No more pretending.


He loves us, imperfections and all.

bottom of page